READ Act

Overview
The Colorado Reading To Ensure Academic Development Act (Colorado READ Act) was passed by the Colorado Legislature during the 2012 legislative session. The READ Act repeals the Colorado Basic Literacy Act (CBLA) as of July 1, 2013, keeping many of the elements of CBLA such as a focus on K-3 literacy, assessment, and individual plans for students reading below grade level. The READ Act differs from CBLA by focusing on students identified as having a significant reading deficiency, delineating requirements for parent communication, and providing funding to support intervention.

Requirements (overview)

  • Assess every Kindergarten through 3rd grade student using a state-approved interim reading assessment within 30 days of the start of school, and again in the spring.
  • Students identified as having a Significant Reading Deficiency (SRD) must be tested using a state-approved diagnostic reading assessment within 30 days of the interim assessment. 
  • The results of the diagnostic assessment should be used to create or update an existing READ plan for each SRD student, in consultation with each student's family. 

Training
8/23/2017, 10 am: READ Act Webinar 
      Link to join: https://enetlearning.adobeconnect.com/rsuoxvbrp088/


READ Data Collection
Schools are required to submit demographic and assessment data for each K-3 student and READ act cohort students in grade 4+ each spring. See CSI's READ Data Collection page for more information.

Resources

READ Act (statute)

READ Plan Template

CDE's READ Act webpage